Admin and Council Members

Mayor’s Welcome to the Village of Rockford


As Mayor, on behalf of the Council of the Village of Rockford, it is my pleasure to welcome you to our website. I trust you will find it both interesting and informative.

Established as Shanes Crossing in 1820 and incorporated as Shanesville in 1866 at the historic St. Marys River Crossing, our name was changed to Rockford in 1890, we are the oldest incorporated village in Mercer County.

Our community boasts a growing business district, fine schools, park facilities, historical museum, and a Carnegie Library. We take great pride in our public service to our community and we strive to promote Rockford while working hard for the betterment of people who live and work here. We are working with our department heads and employees to meet the needs of our community, both now and in the future.

One of Rockford’s greatest assets is its people. There is a true sense of community in our Village. We work closely with our residents, businesses, and community organizations to promote the many services, activities, and benefits of Rockford.

We are proud of our village and what it has to offer. I hope you will enjoy learning more about us as you explore this website.


Amy Joseph, Mayor

Village of Rockford Administration

[show-team category='admin' layout='grid' style='img-rounded,img-white-border,text-center,img-above,3-columns' display='photo,position,email,smallicons,name']

Village of Rockford Members of Council

[show-team orderby='title' category='council' layout='grid' style='img-rounded,img-white-border,text-center,img-above,3-columns' display='photo,position,email,smallicons,name']

Meeting Schedule

Council Meetings are the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of the month at 7:30 pm at The Village Hall.

The Village Hall
151 East Columbia Street
Rockford, Ohio 45882

Phone: (419) 363-3032
Fax: (419) 363-2395


2018 Committees

Service Committee:
Greg Pontsler – Chair
Steve Gehle
Chris Heitkamp

Safety Committee:
Chris Heitkamp – Chair
Gary Fox
Greg Pontsler

Utilities Committee:
Gary Fox – Chair
Shane Young
Chris Heitkamp

Economic Development:
Shane Young – Chair
Brad Now
Steve Gehle

Rules Committee:
Brad Now – Chair
Greg Pontsler
Gary Fox

Finance Committee:
Steve Gehle - Chair
Brad Now
Shane Young